SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lair    Boat related
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Boat related Login/Join 
posted
I need help folks. I'm new to boating. I purchased a 12ft v hull put a nissan 9.9hp outboard on it took it out once and decided to sell the boat, wanted bigger. So I found a 16ft grumman gmt 20 is this boat any good? I ended up replacing all of the flooring, the kid I bought it from was a total burn out. It has a 50hp Mariner from the 80's. I mainly need help with the motor are these any good? Is it a 2 or 4 stroke. He did fire it up it seemed to run fine but I wasn't impressed with the gas tank set up. I got the boat for a really good price so I expected to put some work into it. Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Dave

Posts: 380 | Location: masshole | Registered: August 24, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Hop head
Picture of lyman
posted Hide Post
what do you intend to use this boat for?

Water Ski?
pleasure rides?
fishing?

all of the above?

reason I ask is it will help answer the right question, and it sounds like you went from a basic V type johnboat equivalent to a bigger pleasure model,

https://www.chesterfieldarmament.com/

Posts: 10417 | Location: Beach VA,not VA Beach | Registered: July 17, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
"Member"
Picture of cas
posted Hide Post
50HP on a 16ft aluminum boat? Yikes. (ETA: Okay I looked at a few pics, possible console or windshield, floor, pedestal seat... a good deal more weight)

If its from the 80s it's a safe bet it's 2 cycle.

That's how boats work, assuming you stick with it. You start small and then want/go bigger and bigger. And at some point you start to miss the smaller ones and you work your way back down.

Posts: 21101 | Location: 18th & Fairfax  | Registered: May 17, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
If you're gonna be a
bear, be a Grizzly!
Picture of Todd Huffman
posted Hide Post
quote: