SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Bushmaster AR Windham era - what upgrade?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Bushmaster AR Windham era - what upgrade? Login/Join 
Frequent Denizen
of the Twilight Zone
Picture of SIGWolf
posted
Other than buying something different. Confused

I do have a Daniel Defense DD4 V5, because I wanted to up the ante a little. First, pistols are more my thing and I'm nearly a complete noob when it comes to ARs or any rifle for that matter. I have them, shoot them, but only the basics.

It's a Bushmaster A3, 16" patrol model I believe, also what I believe would be called a heavy barrel, not the m4 profile. It's been fine, shoots fine, totally reliable, not many rounds through it though, mostly .223 even though it has a 5.56 chamber. Didn't realize there was a difference originally, now I do.

Bought it from a friend, an older fellow at work who bought it for some reason but never warmed to it. Sold it to me for $450 as I recall. Bone stock, no additions.

If you were going to do some upgrading, what would you suggest?

This message has been edited. Last edited by: SIGWolf,

Posts: 17342 | Location: Northern Vermont | Registered: September 20, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Yeah, that M14 video guy...
Picture of benny6
posted Hide Post
If it were just sitting since 2000, I'd just shoot it. That was a good era for Bushmaster, IIRC. The Wyndham era. My first AR was a Bushmaster complete lower that I bought in 1999. I still have it and it's still in great condition. Never had a problem with it and thousands of rounds through it.

Tony.

Owner, TonyBen, LLC, Type-07 FFL
www.tonybenm14.com (Site under construction).
e-mail: tonyben@tonybenm14.com

Posts: 5394 | Location: Auburndale, FL | Registered: February 13, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Fighting the good fight
Picture of RogueJSK
posted Hide Post