SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    223 bolt action and 556 ball ammo
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

223 bolt action and 556 ball ammo Login/Join 
Picture of abnmacv
posted
Have read that Mini-14 in 223 should not use 556 ball ammo as there is a size difference in the cartridges.

Does that also hold true in a bolt action rifle?

U.S. Army 11F4P Vietnam 69-70 NRA Life Member

Posts: 1531 | Registered: June 11, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I am not an expert, but I won't shoot 556 in anything not labelled for 556.

Simple.

Posts: 1345 | Location: WI | Registered: July 07, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Shackelford
posted Hide Post
I don't know about size differences, but 5.56 can be loaded to slightly higher pressures than .223, so it is not cecessarily safe to go in that direction. But .223 in a 5.56 gun is safe.

Posts: 831 | Location: Volunteer | Registered: January 16, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Freethinker
Picture of sigfreund
posted Hide Post
There are countless Internet articles and discussions about the differences between the 223 Remington and 5.56mm NATO, but this this is a good one that covers the subject in technical detail, including the fact that actual maximum chamber pressures are very similar. The main differences between the two cartridges are chamber/barrel leades and bullet design/shapes. Shooting any cartridge whose bullet contacts the barrel rifling before firing can raise chamber pressures very significantly, and because the 223 leade is typically shorter than that of 5.56 barrels, that’s a possibility.