SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Questions on Sig SAN 55x series (553P) - caliber and twist rates
Page 1 2 3 4 5 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Questions on Sig SAN 55x series (553P) - caliber and twist rates Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by OTD:
these results relate to a flitching the two stage trigger, not the ammo. With consistent load and an SS109 projectile it's possible to stay with ease within 1.5 MOA (1.2MOA with GP90). There should not be a problem to place a group into the x rin of this target regardless what ammo you ar using.

I have no experience with SS109 ammo. I really have no desire to ding up my own steel targets, so if I do ever shoot SS109 it likely won't be at my practice area. So I'll have to take your word on its accuracy.

Although all my long guns are equipped with single stage triggers, I am quite familiar with two-stage triggers. IMO it's easier to flinch on a single-stage trigger than a two-stage, given that the pull that actually breaks the shot is generally quite a bit higher on a single-stage.

I do have a lot of experience with 69 SMK factory loads. Even my worst barrel groups 69s at 1" to 1-1/4" at 100 yards. Most barrels are in the .6" to 1" ballpark -- group after group after group. My best match barrel is capable of printing 69s in the .4" to .6" range. Now I can't shoot an AR-15 at 1/2 MOA on demand, but the rifle does it when my head isn't up my backside.

Posts: 7867 | Location: Colorado | Registered: January 26, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of MG34_Dan
posted Hide Post
OK. You guys got my interest hyped up. I'll take my 550-1 out for our next shooting session. I'll exclusively shoot some surplus Swiss GP90 I got a few years back and see how it groups. My 550-1 wears a Hensoldt ZF 6X42 BL scope and I'll be shooting it off of sand bags. I'll center the scope using a laser pointer prior to taking it out.