SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Ruger American 22-250 rifles
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Ruger American 22-250 rifles Login/Join 
If you're gonna be a
bear, be a Grizzly!
Picture of Todd Huffman
posted
I picked up a Ruger American 22-250 the other day to use as a coyote gun. I have no experience with this caliber, nor these guns. Anyone else have any experience with them? Any idea of a favorite ammo or how far out to zero it?
I figure most shots I'll get will be at or less than 100 yards, but my reading tells me to zero it for 200 and hold dead on to 300 (or as far as I'll ever be able to see them around here)

Here's to the sunny slopes of long ago.

Posts: 3633 | Location: Morganton, NC | Registered: December 31, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Don't have an American centerfire.

Do have and use the 22-250. I like 50 grain ballistic tips.

You need to shoot actual range to be confident but 1.25 or 1.5 high at 100yds should be pretty much dead on at 200 and 3" give or take low at 300.

Posts: 3718 | Registered: August 13, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Retired, laying back
and enjoying life
Picture of low8option
posted Hide Post