SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    “toppling” 308 ammo 147grain out of a bolt gun?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

“toppling” 308 ammo 147grain out of a bolt gun? Login/Join 
Picture of Fusternc
posted
So I just shot a new to me Remington 700 SPS tactical 308 today at the range and had picked up some 147gr PMC 308 and some 150gr Fiocchi 308 to try out with it.

While zeroing my rifle, and shooting the shoot n c targets, I noticed the bullet strike on both the target and the cardboard box was unmistakably bullet shaped just as if the bullet was “toppling” into the target....instead of striking with a nice football style spiral. This was only with the 147gr PMC brand ammo.

The Fiocchi 150gr made nice concentric round holes.

I’m new to bolt action rifles, but is this typical or odd to be happening out of a 20 inch bull barrel? The rifle had previously been shot very little.

This was at 50 yards. I did not try it at furher ranges today.

Posts: 1373 | Location: New Hampshire | Registered: December 05, 1999Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Can you provide pictures of the targets?

Sideways bullet impacts -- aka keyholing -- with the information you provided is quite odd. As an FYI, sometimes a bullet tears through thin target paper instead of punching a clean hole. This is especially true if the target paper doesn't have some kind of backing, say a sheet of cardboard or plastic. But this paper tearing is more common with slow-moving, blunt-nosed bullets, such as 45 ACP.

Posts: 7873 | Location: Colorado | Registered: January 26, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I'd pull a loaded round and measure the bullet diameter with a micrometer.

Posts: 8955 | Location: The Red part of Minnesota | Registered: October 06, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Fusternc
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by fritz:
Can you provide pictures of the targets?