SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Zero: .223 Rem 55 gr vs 5.56 64 gr
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Zero: .223 Rem 55 gr vs 5.56 64 gr Login/Join 
I Wanna Missile
Picture of tanksoldier
posted
So our duty ammo used to be a .223 Remington 55gr hollow point.

Our new duty ammo is a 5.56 NATO 64gr "protected point" round from Winchester. Essentially a jacketed soft point.

If the difference was between 55gr and 64gr NATO loading it wouldn't be a big deal but the .223 is a considerably lighter load that the 5.56. At 25 feet the 5.56 55gr NATO load will penetrate a Level III plate, .223 in 55gr will barely scratch it.

We zeroed the .223 at 50 yards, which gave a more or less flat trajectory out to 200 yards.

What can I expect from that zero with the hotter, heavier, load?

Is there a better flat-trajectory zero for the 64gr NATO load?

"I am a Soldier. I fight where I'm told and I win where I fight."
GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

Posts: 21542 | Location: Eastern plains of Colorado | Registered: January 25, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
We gonna get some
oojima in this house!
Picture of smithnsig
posted Hide Post
Depends on centerline distance between bore and reticle but I zero everything at 50 yds. It puts me within my ability to shoot at 200.

I shoot 62gr. Federal Fusion, 62 gr. M855, and 55gr .223.
There is no practical difference at 200. From a rest with a good shooter, I'm sure there would be a difference.

-----------------------------------------------------------
TCB all the time...

Posts: 6501 | Location: Cantonment/Perdido Key, Florida | Registered: September 28, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I agree also. Inside of 200 really won't be a statistically significant difference.

If you were shooting long range : 300M and beyond then you would want to pay close attention IMO.

Can play around here:

http://gundata.org/ballistic-calculator/