SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    A/R mechanics: flash hider question
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

A/R mechanics: flash hider question Login/Join 
Picture of craigcpa
posted
Greetings all. I'm an A/R novice, so please consider that.

Is there a way to add 1/4" to the length of the flash hider at the bottom (on the barrel), not at the free end?

I have an Adams Armms 10.5" upper (piston) and trying to attach my suppressor, but the adj valve is too close - this is a quick connect for a Gem-tech - and that blocks the depth I need to attach. It's somewhat "springed" to go over the connect and rise back up.

Any other thoughts?

==========================================
Just my 2¢

Clowns to the left of me, Jokers to the right ♫♫♫

Posts: 7731 | Location: Raleighwood | Registered: June 27, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
For real?
Picture of Chowser
posted Hide Post
???

Something like this

http://www.capitolarmory.com/1...mfire-extension.html

??

Or you can add spacers behind the flash hider.

I don't know if it will work since it's made for .22LR

But I'm sure someone out there makes an extension you can use.

Not minority enough!

Posts: 7993 | Location: Cleveland, OH | Registered: August 09, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Add a washer? Or am I missing something?

"Owning a handgun doesn't make you armed any more than owning a guitar makes you a musician." -Jeff Cooper

Posts: 8756 | Location: UT | Registered: December 05, 1999Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Administrator
posted Hide Post
Talk to gemtech before adding a washer. Practically speaking, it will give you the clearance to back the suppressor up, but if you do that, you are decreasing the surface area the suppressor has to thread onto the bbl.

If the suppressor does not shoulder properly or wobbles, you could get a baffle strike.

Posts: 17733 | Registered: August 12, 2000Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of JJexp
posted Hide Post