SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    So I'm relocating,hunting will be different. Have a Sako 85 Finnlight
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

So I'm relocating,hunting will be different. Have a Sako 85 Finnlight Login/Join 
Picture of valkyrie1
posted
in a .300wsm and I'm now looking at max whitetail, hog as the "biggest game". I love the Sako but now looking at the Bergara Premier series in either .308 or 6.5 creedmore. Will occasionally paper punch for fun. Have a ton of .308 but their catalog states a 20 inch barrel which I'd rather have a 23/24inch barrel. Anybody have experience with their rifles?

Posts: 2303 | Location: Florida | Registered: March 01, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of swage
posted Hide Post
I dont have experience with Bergara but I have a lot of experience with the .308. You don't lose much going from 24" down to 20". For a hunting rifle and taking ethical hunting shots, a 20" barrel will be more than enough. I have a buddy who routinely made hits out to 1000 yards with an 18" barrel in .308. Making consistent shots at distance is all about getting good dope on your rifle.

Posts: 1865 | Location: Westlake, OH USA | Registered: October 17, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
One of my kimber 308s is chopped down to 18”, I love that gun. I prefer the shortest barrels I can get due to how thick the brush is here.

Posts: 5082 | Location: Alaska | Registered: June 12, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Experienced Slacker
posted Hide Post
If this is merely a "reason" to get another deer rifle then OK.
Honestly though, I think you'd be just fine with what you have. Maybe adjust the bullet choice a tad, but a souped up .30 cal is never a bad idea.

Posts: 7486 | Registered: May 12, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
"Member"
Picture of cas
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by apprentice: