SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Pistol / carbine competition tips or lessons learned
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Pistol / carbine competition tips or lessons learned Login/Join 
Telecom Ronin
Picture of dewhorse
posted
Recently I started shooting in the local IDPA matches. So far I have only shot in the " outlaw" shoots that are loosely based on IDPA rules. It's been damned fun and a great way to learn to draw/shoot/move in a highe lr stressed environment.

They have a pistol / carbine shoot in Dec that I have registered for and was hoping to pick the SF brain trust on tips and lessons learned.

At my first match the RSO was nice enough to point out that some of my habits, like moving with the pistol at low ready was not great for competition due to the likely hood of sweeping myself.

Anything like that with the carbine?

While I have practiced transitions I don't know what is permissible in competition?

Kit wise, I was planning on the below....feed back would be great.

Pistol
G17 with tlr1
Pistol belt (Rapture tac ODIN) with 2 pistol mags and one AR mag- both bladetech pouches
Holster - safariland ALS med ride
I will probably leave the dump pouch and TQ on the belt

Carbine
Really want to use my 11.5" sbr, w a binary trigger, possibly with the can on it ( AAC ssn6), scope is a TR24 with a triangle reticle. The reticle is quite fast but I am slightly concerned with it's precision at 250y. This is my HD setup

Other option is a 16" mid gas setup with a PA 1x8 and a geisselle trigger.

I was even tempted to try the Gau5 repo I built, it has been awhile since I shot irons at distance....could be fun as it is so light and quick compared to the others.

Again any feedback is welcome...

Posts: 8301 | Location: Back in NE TX ....to stay | Registered: February 12, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post