SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Refinishing Steel Rifle Magazines?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Refinishing Steel Rifle Magazines? Login/Join 
Get my pies
outta the oven!

Picture of PASig
posted
I have a question about an area I have zero experience with; refinishing surplus steel magazines.

I bought a C308 7.62 rifle from a member here and they take a 20 round CETME steel magazine or aluminum G3 magazines. I’ve been buying more of them and the majority are in great shape, most likely never even used and coated in cosmoline. A few are just oily with a slight bit of surface rust/crud on them.

I plan to disassemble them and clean thoroughly with brake cleaner but I’m not sure what to do with them as far as refinishing?

A number of them have bright wear spots on the bluing/coating. They are built like tanks, almost Soviet in construction.

Can I paint them? I’m not looking to spend a ton of money doing fancy coatings, they are 5 dollars each!

Posts: 33608 | Location: Pennsylvania | Registered: November 12, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
semi-reformed sailor
Picture of MikeinNC
posted Hide Post
De grease them and use a q tip with some cold blue to hit the shiny parts....

"Violence, naked force, has settled more issues in history than has any other factor.” Robert A. Heinlein

“You may beat me, but you will never win.” sigmonkey-2020

“A single round of buckshot to the torso almost always results in an immediate change of behavior.” Chris Baker

Posts: 11247 | Location: Temple, Texas! | Registered: October 07, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Me I'd degrease them and rattle can them. Can't see any downside for these. Brake clean would not be my best choice to degrease.

“So in war, the way is to avoid what is strong, and strike at what is weak.”

Posts: 10974 | Registered: October 14, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
When you fall, I will be there to catch you -With love, the floor