SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    AR(ish) Pistol(ish) beasties for HD scenarios...Am I missing the basis for the appeal?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

AR(ish) Pistol(ish) beasties for HD scenarios...Am I missing the basis for the appeal? Login/Join 
Don't Panic
Picture of joel9507
posted
Preface:
#1 I'm not a pro, but I'm a decent shot with my pistols. Current HD scenario is P226/9mm/18 round mag.

#2 as a mechanical engineer, I can easily be seduced by the 'cool factor.' I have a couple flintlocks and picked up a LifeCard mainly due to my admiration for the designs. Recently, I have been very attracted to the "Copperhead" style AR pistols, at least conceptually.
----------------------
OK, on to the puzzler. I got to pick up a SIG Copperhead at the LGS the other day, and the arm brace thing seemed, well, questionable. (About the only time in my life I could see an advantage to being maybe a foot shorter with shorter arms and a longer neck!)

Then I got to thinking...cool as it looks, it is way bigger and heavier than the P226, not as pointable if one were moving about a home, more expensive....to put two more 9mm rounds (20 vs 18) through a shorter barrel?

So, reluctantly, I gave it back to the salesperson.

I must be missing something fundamental here. I am not Annie Oakley with the P226, but I can't see how hunching over one of these is going to improve the shot placement at the ranges I envision a potential home defense situation to take place. Or maybe that genre isn't designed to appeal as home defense alternatives to folks who are decent shots with their pistols.

Anyway, please let me know your thoughts.

Posts: 15001 | Location: North Carolina | Registered: October 15, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
E tan e epi tas
Picture of cslinger
posted Hide Post