SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    AK mags
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

AK mags Login/Join 
Just mobilize it
posted
So now that I have a new AK-47 variant , what are the best mags to get? It came with a PMAG, but I have heard the circle 10'a are good. Any good steel surplus ones? Where is a good place to buy?

Here's the gun ain't she purty?

Posts: 4609 | Registered: July 24, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
E tan e epi tas
Picture of cslinger
posted Hide Post
I've never actually come across a BAD surplus AK mag. I mean of course avoid the promags or other domestic AK mags (I have no experience with the MAGPUl ones but they are about the only ones I would chance).

Circle 10s are good
All the steel surplus "commie" mags have been reliable and much like an East German Figure Skater....strong like bull. Smile never a problem with any of them. Never tried the 20 round mags so You're on your own there.

I actually find the Circle 10s to be harder to rock and lock quickly then their steel counterparts. Probably as they feel a hair thicker.

"Guns are tools. The only weapon ever created was man."

Posts: 7675 | Location: On the water | Registered: July 25, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Raised Hands Surround Us
Three Nails To Protect Us
Picture of Black92LX
posted Hide Post
I have just short of a metric ton of Tapco mags. Yes the ones people like to talk bad about. I have had zero issues with them. For $3.99 I have no complaints.
I also have some PMags that work with no issues and a few Croatian mags.

————————————————
The world's not perfect, but it's not that bad.
If we got each other, and that's all we have.
I will be your brother, and I'll hold your hand.
You should know I'll be there for you!

Posts: 25408 | Registered: September 06, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post