SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    To lap or not to lap, that is my question.
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

To lap or not to lap, that is my question. Login/Join 
posted
Gents,

I'm wanting to take the time and effort to properly mount a scope myself. I've never done it before, having a LGS do it for me twice in the past. However, I've got the itch to do it myself. My question is, is lapping the rings really necessary? I'm using Talley rings on a Weatherby Vanguard Accuguard in .300 WM. What do most people on the forum recommend? Thanks in advance.

TS

Posts: 858 | Location: California | Registered: March 27, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Truth Wins
Picture of Micropterus
posted Hide Post
You don't need to lap Talley rings. Nor Warne rings.

The only ring's I've ever thought would benefit from lapping are the rings included with Ruger rifles, and Leupold/Burris traditional rings intended for Redfield style bases.

Mounting a scope using Talley and Warne rings and bases is very easy. I recommend that you use a torque screwdriver and torque all the screws to exactly the recommended torque. With Warnes, it's easy. It's 25 inch/lbs for all screws. Talley will have it's own specs, too.

https://www.amazon.com/Wheeler...h%2Caps%2C167&sr=8-2

Posts: 4285 | Location: In The Swamp | Registered: January 03, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I used a Wheeler 1" lapping kit on Leupold rings on a CZ452 American. Didn't really need much. I have since switched to Talley for my 3 CZ's and didn't lap them. I use a Scalarworks on an SPR build (no lapping needed), and will change to Warne QD on my Gunsite Scout I just used Leupold Ruger rings on. I didn't have a 30 mm lapping kit and didn't want to bother, but now when I remove it when I get the Warnes I'll see if I caused any ring rash.

Posts: 4701 | Location: Indiana | Registered: December 28, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post