SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    6.8spc and 6.5grendel ammo cost & availability
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

6.8spc and 6.5grendel ammo cost & availability Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
I’m relatively new to the grendel as well but overall I’m happy I made the choice. I have a 12” sbr and a 20” rifle. Using American gunner 123 grain from hornady I get around 2250 out of the Sbr and 2500 from the rifle. Working on load development right now using 8208 xbr and nosler 123’s that should get me right around those figures. The sbr is a handy little package that sends out very efficient Bullets with AK-rifle type muzzle energy that is retained much further. Only downside as far as I’m concerned is the need for separate mags so figure that into your cost as well.

Posts: 239 | Location: The Great Salt Lake | Registered: November 26, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Prepared for the Worst, Providing the Best
Picture of 92fstech
posted Hide Post
quote:
A barrel is the heart of a firearm. A cheap barrel is a huge gamble in a rifle's performance, and it appears your gamble wasn't good. A quality barrel -- and the accuracy it produces -- makes a rifle more enjoyable to shoot.

Couldn't agree more. I made a poor decision there in the interest of frugality, and ended up paying the price. Now it's going to end up costing me more. If I decide to stick with the 6.5 I'll likely go with a longer barrel to wring the most out of the cartridge. It'll add a few ounces out front, but I imagine it'll be worth it.

Posts: 8543 | Location: In the Cornfields | Registered: May 25, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of ed308
posted Hide Post