SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Suggestions requested for fox/coyote rifle caliber...
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Suggestions requested for fox/coyote rifle caliber... Login/Join 
Buy high and sell "low"
Picture of archerman
posted Hide Post
I agree with ORC on the .22-250

And it was also the first center fire I ever received (my Christmas present, when I turned 12) and I still have it.

It has taken plenty of coyotes and fox with minimal pelt damage, and a few deer as well.

Archerman

Posts: 2483 | Location: N. Idaho | Registered: February 26, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Age Quod Agis
Picture of ArtieS
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by jhe888:
quote:
Originally posted by ArtieS:
Please note that if you go with a .223 from an AR with a 1/7 twist rate, and shoot very light bullets, you may have accuracy or bullet disintegration problems.

I have no experience with this, but I have read that 1/7 can cause light bullets to fly apart from the rotational forces at high velocity. The AR platform often uses a 1/7 twist to stabilize heavy for caliber bullets that are long. An older .223 bolt gun will often have as much as a 1/12 twist barrel, while newer offerings will likely be 1/8 (Ruger American) or 1/9 (Savage Axis).

To be all ballistics nerd on you - it isn't the weight of the bullet that causes them to be less stable at 1 in 7 rate of rotation, but the length of the bullet. Faster rotation is needed to stabilize long bullets. Usually, spinning short (light) bullets too fast causes less or no problems. Since weight is a proxy for length, some think it is the weight that matters.

Being spun fast enough to self-destruct in flight is about bullet construction. Very lightly constructed bullets, like the super-light varmint bullets, may not withstand higher twist rates. If they hold up under those rotation rates, they should still be accurate, though.