SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    slug barrel questions
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

slug barrel questions Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
Thanks Scooter and everyone else. Shotguns 101 is just what I needed. Some of my questions were so basic I could not even find answers online but I knew I would get them here.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: kho,

Posts: 549 | Location: S Fla / Western NC High Country | Registered: May 03, 2015Reply With QuoteReport This Post
I Wanna Missile
Picture of tanksoldier
posted Hide Post
If you have to shoot, make sure you kill it.

A wounded bear is either a danger to you or will die slowly... or both. Shot is not going to penetrate a bear enough to reliably stop it.

A standard 1oz 12g rifled slug will do fine.

"I am a Soldier. I fight where I'm told and I win where I fight."
GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

Posts: 21542 | Location: Eastern plains of Colorado | Registered: January 25, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by tanksoldier:

A wounded bear is either a danger to you or will die slowly... or both. Shot is not going to penetrate a bear enough to reliably stop it.

Normally I would agree with you 100%. Unfortunately these are not normal times the only place you will find available 12 gauge Slug loads is in your closet. So, if the OP had the foresight to stash some slug loads that is the best option. However if all he can find are bird loads then that is the only option.

I've stopped counting.

Posts: 5643 | Location: Michigan | Registered: November 07, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post