SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Now for some scope opinions
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Now for some scope opinions Login/Join 
Charmingly unsophisticated
Picture of AllenInAR
posted
This'll be for a .308 punching holes in paper at 100yd, or maybe gongs at 500. I'm a noob wearing bifocals. LOL Budget of say $500-800 (depends on how much I like it, much like the Bergara LOL). I prefer the math of MOA to mils. Bonus points if I can get a nice military discount (like Vortex).

So far I'm leaning towards the Vortex Viper HS-T, but I find t odd that the reticle "works" at 18x instead of its max magnification.

Also am considering the Leupold VX-3i LRP SF.

Already have Seekins base and 30mm rings.

Go!!

The artist formerly known as AllenInWV

Posts: 16188 | Location: Harrison, AR | Registered: February 05, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
The Constable
posted Hide Post
I found a Sightron III in 6-24X a few years back for $600 and it's been on 3 different precision rifles....Works just fine. Good , repeatable adjustments, tracks fine as well.

Last year someone had a sale on their 8-32X and I bought one of those. Same deal...A lot of good optics for not a lot of money.

Sightron III...3 not II , 2.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: FN in MT,

Posts: 7074 | Location: Craig, MT | Registered: December 17, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of fatmanspencer
posted Hide Post
I have and love my leupold. I use it on my 308, for similar. I'm not the best shot, but I will say this, the leupold from my usage, you will want a good base. I was sucking until I got my bipod, because of the jump of the rifle.

Used guns deserve a home too

Posts: 783 | Location: North Ga | Registered: August 06, 2016Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I have no experience with the scope models you list.