SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Shooting with a rear sight and a red dot at the same time?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Shooting with a rear sight and a red dot at the same time? Login/Join 
Leatherneck
posted
This may be an amateur question but I am an amateur so please bear with me. Do people use red dot optics together with rear iron sights often?

Every picture I can recall seeing of a rifle with a red dot optic on it shows the rear sight out of the way so I assumed shooters all either used the optic alone or at most the optic over a front iron sight. I got my very first red dot today and set after putting it on my rifle I noticed that at the distance my eye is from the rear sight and then to the optic, the rear sight (while in the lowlight setting) frames the optic perfectly. So after playing with it a little I wondered if there really was a need to ever flip it down out of the way. Then I was looking online and came across a video of Larry Vickers shooting his rifle with a fixed rear sight through the red dot.

Do a lot of shooters use both iron sights and the red dot? Is it a personal preference thing? Are there advantages or disadvantages to either option?

“Everybody wants a Sig in the sheets but a Glock on the streets.” -bionic218 04-02-2014

Posts: 15251 | Location: Florida | Registered: May 07, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of RichardC
posted Hide Post
With my astigmatism, looking through a rear aperture sight into my red dot sight changes it from a peanut shaped comet burst to a nice distinct round dot.

The diameter of the aperture is a consideration.

Wide aperture for speed of acquisition; narrower, if I need the help to focus.

One thing that bothers me, is why put backup irons in line with a red dot sight if the red dot is not on a quick detachable mount?

If the red dot is occluded by snow, mud, salt spray, blood, etc, the BUI's won't help.