SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Fixed Mag AR15 failure to feed, every round...(also bolt doesn't lock back on last round)
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Fixed Mag AR15 failure to feed, every round...(also bolt doesn't lock back on last round) Login/Join 
paradox in a box
Picture of frayedends
posted
I have a new fixed mag AR built by a local guy. I only shot it once before (only 10 rounds) and it seemed okay except the bolt didn't lock back on the last round. I figured it was simply break in period. I'm new to ARs, and it's my first rifle.

I was able to get some Wolf steel case 223 from Target Sports and took it out tonight. It would not fire more than one round without a malfunction. In one instance I found that must have been my fault, there was a round in the chamber when I tried to feed another. I fixed my error and I'm wondering if that round was a dud.

I'm starting to question myself on exactly what was happening. I would chamber a round, shoot and then the bolt would be forward but the next round wouldn't fire. I tried to chamber another and it didn't feed, bolt getting caught on it (see the pic below). In some instances this happened when I shot, and others when I racked it myself. This was every time and I never fired more than 1 round without having to deal with the issue. If I got a round in the chamber by releasing the bolt, it would fire. But never seemed to chamber a round when I fired.

Any suggestions? I'm hoping it's the not the ammo as I spent a lot on it. Perhaps it's the fixed mag that's the issue. Open to suggestions.

These go to eleven.

Posts: 12437 | Location: Westminster, MA | Registered: November 14, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Man of few words

Picture of remsig
posted Hide Post
Oddly my best friend had something similar happen while I was visiting him last month at his house in OK. His AR47 did the same thing, although he doesn't have a fixed mag.