SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    RDS optic sighting
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

RDS optic sighting Login/Join 
Picture of fatmanspencer
posted
Now, I'm not the biggest rifle user. But I have a bushmaster I'm fond of, and I'm trying to get at some better shooting. I know that on an ar 15 for mid chest hits at 25 yards its like a 4 inch drop right? So how do you prep that aim on a new out the box RDS? Say your using the standard 10 marked, do you aim at six with the sight to get the correct placement?

Used guns deserve a home too

Posts: 783 | Location: North Ga | Registered: August 06, 2016Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Lead slingin'
Parrot Head
Picture of Modern Day Savage
posted Hide Post
Confused

25 what? 25'? 25yrds? 4" drop for what caliber? What gr. weight? What barrel length and twist rate? (I see you have added some info).

I can't imagine any standard AR-15 caliber that experiences a 4" bullet drop in 25 yrds. If you are asking about adjusting your point of aim to shoot at a close range target it depends on what distance your RDS is zeroed at.

If you are asking about sighting in a new RDS:

- Verify your BUIS zero, if so equipped.

- If iron equipped decide whether you want a co-witness or 1/3 sight picture and select the optic and mount combo that get you there.

- Sight in RDS at the distance that makes the most sense for your specific uses for the ammo you plan on using and zero to that.

Posts: 7324 | Location: the Centennial state | Registered: August 21, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Freethinker
Picture of sigfreund
posted Hide Post
quote:
Say your using the standard 10 marked, do you aim at six with the sight to get the correct placement?