SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Browning BAR MK3 DBM
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Browning BAR MK3 DBM Login/Join 
Shoulda Coulda
Oughta Woulda
posted
Does anyone have one? I’m looking for a quality made semi-auto 308 and it must be featureless NY legal. General purpose use, just checking the box because I want one. I have 12ga and 5.56 covered already. The other option is an M1A with no muzzle device. Found the Browning for $1300 and mags are very expensive, $90.

Thanks,
Bill

Posts: 543 | Registered: June 26, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Buy that Classic SIG in All Stainless,
No rail wear will be painless.
Picture of cee_Kamp
posted Hide Post
Hi, I'm in upstate NY so I feel your pain. First, I have zero experience with the Browning BAR MK3 DBM.
I had a Browning BAR Safari II in 30-06. A nice & pretty rifle, it just didn't deliver the accuracy I expected.
I know, a sample of one. The BAR MK3 DBM that you are considering might shoot great, or it might not.

I bought a Springfield Armory M1A, Loaded Model, # MA 9226 which is chambered in .308 Winchester/7.62 X 51.
And just to be clear, I purchased it several years before the NY Safe Act was signed into law.

In 2013, I had a choice, as the M1A had several "features" that made it an "assault weapon" and required registration.
Nope, not going to do that. I contacted SA Custom Shop, No they would not/did not modify for NY compliance.
I sent my 20 round magazines out of NY State. I had spent several years accumulating dozens of the proper GI Pre-Ban 20 round magazines, which before the Safe Act, were legal in NY. Now it's all 10 & 5 round magazines.
When you are limited on magazine capacity by ridiculous state laws, make up for that deficiency in caliber!
I do take the M1A out when big game hunting, in addition to it's regular range trips.

I removed the flash hider/bayonet mount.