SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Question on sling and bipod setup on a general-purpose bolt action rifle...
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Question on sling and bipod setup on a general-purpose bolt action rifle... Login/Join 
Domari Nolo
Picture of Chris17404
posted
Hi all,

I am planning on purchasing my first bolt action rifle. Let's assume it is a somewhat basic model that just has sling swivel studs installed in the usual places: to rear of the buttstock and towards the front of the forend. I would ideally like to setup the rifle in a way that allows me to have a sling attached 100% of the time, and also allow me to mount a bipod anytime I prefer it. What options do I have for using the front sling swivel stud to do this? I am new to bolt action rifles. Do bipods exist that can be mounted to the sling swivel stud yet also allow the attachment of a sling? Am I way off base on my desire and it simply won't work? In my mind, when the bipod is attached the sling would simply be for carrying the rifle, but without the bipod the sling could be used for shooting stability. What other setup options or suggestions would you have? Thanks for your time.

Chris

Posts: 2331 | Location: York, PA | Registered: May 17, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Go ahead punk, make my day
posted Hide Post
Harris Bipods have a sling attachment, so it would simply be a case of unhooking the front sling attachment, putting the bipod on, then re-attaching the front sling attachment to the one on the bipod.

Posts: 45798 | Registered: July 12, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Freethinker
Picture of sigfreund
posted Hide Post
My first recommendation about bipod mounts is to get a setup that attaches the bipod to a Picatinny rail section via a quick detach mount. That is so far more convenient for storage, carry, and use of the rifle without the bipod mounted that I never consider anything else.