SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Ithaca Model 37 Deerslayer
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Ithaca Model 37 Deerslayer Login/Join 
Only dead fish
go with the flow
Picture of pessimist
posted
Help me clear up some confusion I have regarding this shotgun. My father recently gave me one and it's probably 50 years old.

It's called "Deerslayer" and it has rifle sights. However, the barrel is a fixed, full choke. I'm no expert on shotguns but doesn't a full choke preclude the use of slugs or buckshot of appropriate size for deer? When I think of a smoothbore shotgun for deer, I think improved cylinder.

Posts: 1517 | Registered: March 25, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Rule #1: Use enough gun
Picture of Bigboreshooter
posted Hide Post
Fixed full chokes work fine with buckshot. In some shotguns, a fixed modified choke will pattern buckshot better than full. But the shot size (#4, #1, O, 00, 000) affects patterning too.

The older Foster-style slugs work fine with full choke. Not sure about any of the newer designs.

When a strong man, fully armed, guards his own house, his possessions are undisturbed. Luke 11:21

"Every nation in every region now has a decision to make.
Either you are with us, or you are with the terrorists." -- George W. Bush

Posts: 14826 | Location: Birmingham, Alabama | Registered: February 25, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Not really from Vienna
Picture of arfmel
posted Hide Post
Don't know about the choke marking but I remember those barrels were supposedly a tighter bore than usual for gauge.

Posts: 26892 | Location: Jerkwater, Texas | Registered: January 30, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Only dead fish
go with the flow
Picture of pessimist
posted Hide Post
Thanks for the info, guys.

A teetotaling
beer aficionado
Picture of NavyGuy
posted Hide Post