SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Scope/bipod recs for 50BMG
Page 1 2 

Closed Topic Closed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Scope/bipod recs for 50BMG Login/Join 
We Are...MARSHALL
Picture of armedmd
posted
I've always wanted to get into some long range shooting and recently purchased an Armalite AR50 National Match. I need recommendations for a quality reasonably priced scope as well as a bipod. I believe my range will be 1000 yards +/-. Ive read a variety of reviews online about various scopes and their inability to tolerate the recoil. My local shop is recommending Vortex brand scopes and they do seem very nice but I have no personal experience with them. Thank you in advance for any advice.
If all goes according to plan I would also like to sign up for a course for the long range shooting in the summer so any recommendations regarding this would be nice as well.

Build a man a fire and keep him warm for a night, set a man on fire and keep him warm the rest of his life.

Posts: 1626 | Location: WV | Registered: December 15, 2005Report This Post
Alea iacta est
Picture of exx1976
posted Hide Post
Seems like an awful lot of rifle for such a short distance.

That said, there is no such thing as "reasonably priced" and "50BMG" in the same sentence.

I'd be willing to bet dollars to donuts that any Vortex you put on there except for a Razor or Gen2 Razor will wind up broken in short order due to recoil - and I'm a HUGE Vortex fan. Regardless the brand of optic, you're going to have to spend some COIN to get some quality glass that will withstand the beating. Expect to spend a minimum of $2000.

The same can be said of bipods. I would normally recommend an Atlas, but I don't know that they would stand up to that level of punishment.

Every time you make a typo, the errorists win.

Posts: 15652 | Location: Location, Location  | Registered: April 09, 2012Report This Post
posted Hide Post