SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    CZ 455 setup and questions
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

CZ 455 setup and questions Login/Join 
posted
I’ve been putting some items together lately for what I hope to be a decent .22 shooting platform. I feel like I’ve been overthinking this, but wanted to check with those in the know.

I’m struggling with scope ring selection, both from a size/height and appropriateness to the platform perspective. Also looking for some general thoughts on my direction and choices so far. Though I’ve got very little experience with it, I’ve gotten very interested in rifle shooting, especially after reading a number of interesting threads here.

I’m new at this, so bear with me. My thinking was to first try a rimfire rifle and see how things go. My interest is primarily non-competitive target shooting, probably from a bench, 50-100yds depending on any ability I may have, and possibly further if it works out. To that end, I recently purchased a CZ 455 Tacticool in .22lr. I also read a number of articles here and elsewhere, and after doing a lot of research, ended up purchasing a Sightron S-TAC 4-20x50 30mm scope with the MOA-2 reticle, focusable down to 9 yards, with 80MOA of total elevation adjustment. For better or worse, my decision was based on Sightron’s reputation, the short range focusing capability, the amount of elevation adjustment, the fine dot reticle, magnification range, and price. No modifications are planned for the CZ yet – I’d like to just try it in stock form first. Because of the possibility of shooting to 100yds or further, I also purchased a DIP 25MOA extended base, though I’m starting to second guess myself on this one – I’d welcome any input. Also, I realize that at some future point I may need more magnification depending on type of shooting, distance, and how well I want to see my results.