SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Loctite on scope ring screws, yea or nay?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Loctite on scope ring screws, yea or nay? Login/Join 
Web Clavin Extraordinaire
Picture of Oat_Action_Man
posted
A torque wrench will be used for proper tightness, but is it wise to use Loctite on the screws that hold the scope rings together?

----------------------------

Chuck Norris put the laughter in "manslaughter"

Educating the youth of America, one declension at a time.

Posts: 19837 | Location: SE PA | Registered: January 12, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of JohnnyD
posted Hide Post
I am far from an expert. I've only mounted a few scopes, but I always use a tiny bit of Loctite.

-----------------------------------

USAF/ANG Retired

Posts: 782 | Location: Garland, (Zombieland) TX. | Registered: February 21, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Security Sage
Picture of striker1
posted Hide Post
Low-strength loctite, like the purple.

RB

Cancer fighter (Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma) since 2009, now fighting Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma.

Posts: 7133 | Location: Michiana | Registered: March 01, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Yes, I would use a light strength locktite as well. I've had scope screws loosen up over time without it.

Posts: 21335 | Registered: June 12, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
It won't hurt anything (if you use the correct product), but it's not necessary if using good quality rings.

"Owning a handgun doesn't make you armed any more than owning a guitar makes you a musician." -Jeff Cooper

Posts: 8766 | Location: UT | Registered: December 05, 1999Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of CandyMan.45
posted Hide Post
In the "No" camp... never have had anything come loose when torqued to spec.

Posts: 1244 | Location: The Edge of Nowhere... | Registered: April 05, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Expert308
posted Hide Post