SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    BDC scope for subsonic .22 rifle? **Bought a Nikon Prostaff Rimfire
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

BDC scope for subsonic .22 rifle? **Bought a Nikon Prostaff Rimfire Login/Join 
posted
What are the thoughts on a bullet drop scope for a subsonic .22 bolt rifle? I would like to get the main cross hairs dialed in for maybe 15 yards and use the BDC dots for slightly longer yardages. I really dont have any need to shoot past 50 yards.

Would the BDC even be useful at these short ranges? I will be using CCI quite 22 ammo. Im not good with ballistic calculations and even wonder how far the BDC dots would be with the main cross hairs set at 15yrds.

I was looking Vortex Copperhead 4x12 scope.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: gpbst3,

Posts: 5406 | Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA | Registered: February 27, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
I run trains!
Picture of SigM4
posted Hide Post
In my limited experience I've only ever seen scopes with BDC reticle for standard velocity .22 ammo (~1040-1080 FPS). The quiet is something like 750 FPS isn't it? I would think that'd be way off even out to just 50 yds.

Success always occurs in private, and failure in full view.

Complacency sucks…

Posts: 5423 | Location: Wichita, KS (for now)…always a Texan… | Registered: April 14, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Freethinker
Picture of sigfreund
posted Hide Post
My answer to your question is that I doubt it, but I don’t know for certain. May I, though,
make a suggestion?

Some years ago I purchased a Leupold extended focus range 6.5-20× scope to put on a training rifle. I wanted to use it at close distances (12.5 yards) as well as longer ranges. The sight was available only with a duplex reticle, but I was able to have it converted to Leupold’s

https://www.google.com/search?...mgrc=cWHvmSew4fdZvM:

Tactical Milling Reticle