SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    Rifle for hunting sheep
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Rifle for hunting sheep Login/Join 
Picture of abnmacv
posted
Any suggestions on rifle and caliber for hunting the high country?

U.S. Army 11F4P Vietnam 69-70 NRA Life Member

Posts: 1553 | Registered: June 11, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Freethinker
Picture of sigfreund
posted Hide Post
I have no experience with hunting sheep and know only what I’ve read, but the consensus seems to be a rifle and sight as light as practicable, and a cartridge that’s suitable for long ranges, but moderate caliber (6mm/6.5mm, i.e., 0.243/0.264). Everyone who has a 6.5 Creedmoor seems to love it (and I’m about to find out myself), but there are other options in that range.

6.4/93.6

“Wise men talk because they have something to say; fools, because they have to say something.”
— Plato

Posts: 47407 | Location: 10,150 Feet Above Sea Level in Colorado | Registered: April 04, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
With bad intent
posted Hide Post
Lumber Adirondack in 6.5CM

Posts: 7912 | Location: One step ahead of you | Registered: February 10, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Caribou gorn
Picture of YellowJacket
posted Hide Post
A sheep rifle needs to be as lightweight as you can shoot well. An ultralight rifle may be easy to carry, but you're there to kill a sheep, not sight-see. Don't go overboard on lightweight.

As for caliber, 6mms or quarter bores seem a tad light for a big Dall or Bighorn. I'd step up to 6.5 or 7mm. .280 would probably be my first choice if buying a new gun explicitly for sheep.

And I'd get it in the Winchester Model 70 Extreme Weather SS. About 6 3/4 lbs naked. I also would not hesitate to take my old boat paddle Ruger M77 MKII in .270, though I'd have to log quite a few range hours getting comfortable shooting out to 400 yards with it.

I'm gonna vote for the funniest frog with the loudest croak on the highest log.