SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  Mason's Rifle Room    .243 impulse buy - need a scope and rings
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

.243 impulse buy - need a scope and rings Login/Join 
Be Like Mike
Picture of CEShooter
posted
After months of researching and looking for sales on a Tikka T3x CTR in .308, I finally clicked buy on a T3 Laminted Stainless in .243 Confused

Over Christmas I was honest with myself and realized that with work, the kids, home remodeling, etc. I just don’t have the time to take up the type of shooting that I wish to take up. The .243 was a more realistic option for the type of shooting that I’ll likely do so that’s what we ended up going with.

Now, I am at the fun point of choosing a scope and rings for this rifle. Since there are a multitude of different combinations out there, acknowledging that I have zero real world experience with scopes over $100, and assuming that I don’t mind waiting for a few months to find a good deal, what scope and ring combo would you go with if the three main uses for this rifle are deer hunting, coyote hunting, and sitting in a safe? As for price, I can rationalize the buy once, cry once line but I also subscribe to the “You’re not a Delta Force sniper nor a world traveling hunter so spend accordingly” philosophy.

---------------
"Structural engineering is the art of moulding materials we don't understand into shapes we cannot precisely analyze, so as to withstand forces we cannot really access, in such a way that the community at large has no reason to suspect the extent of our ignorance." Dr. A. R. Dykes

Posts: 2229 | Location: 500 Miles from the homeland | Registered: February 21, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
With bad intent
posted Hide Post
I put DNZ Gamerepaer mounts on all my Tikkas.

Posts: 7912 | Location: One step ahead of you | Registered: February 10, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
A teetotaling
beer aficionado
Picture of NavyGuy
posted Hide Post