SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    First Sig - German made P225?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

First Sig - German made P225? Login/Join 
posted
Hi all,

I finally joined the Sig club with a P225. I'm brand new to this, so I'm trying to understand exactly what I have. The serial number is M6534xx. It has German proof marks on the barrel (AD, Eagle N, Kiel), the frame (Eagle N after the serial number) and on the "chin" of the slide (Eagle N). The date code, AD, I believe designates 2003. The ejection port side of the slide is marked MADE IN GERMANY and P225. The other side is marked SIG SAUER and SIGARMS INC, EXETER-NH.

The slide and barrel, however, do not have the serial number. "SIG SAUER" is stamped on the side of the barrel opposite the ejection port.

It also came with 3 magazines, 2 marked "Sig Sauer" on the body, and one marked "P6 9mm X 19" on the floorplate.

So, even though this appears to be a 2003 pistol, is it German manufactured and assembled? The limited reading I've done leaves me somewhat unsure.

On the bright side, I ran 100 rounds of mixed FMJ and Speer 124g Gold Dot through it with no problems. It's clearly a well made pistol and a blast to shoot.

Thanks!

https://www.flickr.com/photos/...93@N07/shares/monEr2

This message has been edited. Last edited by: SlimeDog,

Posts: 6 | Registered: September 16, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Congrats! Others more knowledgable than I will be along to address the heritage of your P225. I would only say that you've started out with what many would consider the epitome of Sig Sauer design. Enjoy!
Jerry

Posts: 158 | Location: Oregon | Registered: November 23, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Gracie Allen is my
personal savior!
posted Hide Post
Welcome, Slimedog. You might get a little more information if you put a bit more information in the thread title - something like "odd proof marks on a 225", for example.