SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Struggling with aiming a sig
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Struggling with aiming a sig Login/Join 
posted
I am not an expert shooter but I am very comfortable with rifles and slightly less comfortable with pistols but still proficient. I have a 357 revolver that I am quite effective with out to about 40 yds or so without much issue.

I recently got a p226 elite (6 months ago) and I have always struggled to get used to the combat sights. I was struggling the other day and was blaming my bad form or shooting habits but picked up a buddies 1911 and instantly drilled down the plates. Went back to mine and couldn't hit anything. I thought maybe it was my sights or something. Two others shot my gun and mowed down the plates with ease.

What should I be doing different? I am lining up the posts and covering what I want to hit, is that not correct?

Posts: 15 | Registered: August 31, 2016Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Are you using sight picture #3? Both eyes open?

--------------------------
Every normal man must be tempted, at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats.
-- H L Mencken

I always prefer reality when I can figure out what it is.
-- JALLEN 10/18/18

Posts: 9158 | Location: Illinois farm country | Registered: November 15, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
In my experience, only the bar-dot sights are combat. Night sights seem to be traditional 50/50.

Still, that shouldn't change too much depending on what range you're at. Hard to say what you're doing without watching you. Try shooting paper at 7 yards first and see where you group (assuming you group). That'll help you figure out how it's sighted and maybe what you're doing.

------------------------------------------------
Charter member of the vast, right-wing conspiracy

Posts: 1860 | Registered: June 25, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post