SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    P365 XL - with or without manual safety? and impact of Gemany Sig closing
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

P365 XL - with or without manual safety? and impact of Gemany Sig closing Login/Join 
His Royal Hiney
Picture of Rey HRH
posted
It's still a couple of years away it looks like before I make it to a free state but I'm planning ahead.

I came across P365 XL in YouTube. I like and have Sigs. I think I like this for a carry gun I see it has the option of no safety or manual safety. I'm comfortable with Sig's decocker and if that was a choice, I'd take that.

But since it's stiker fired and I have no experience with such and carrying in general, I thought I would be more comfortable (and safer) if I get the manual safety option for my wife and I.

I understand taking the safety off is an additional step before I can use the gun but I see it also as an additional step to minimize a negligent discharge. I also know that a safety could fail in the exact moment when I need to use the gun but I think that's a low probability.

Can I get confirmation that my thinking is acceptable? Or, in reverse, is there a critical point I am missing that points to me just getting my wife and I to train carrying a gun with no safety? I plan on getting one each for both of us.

Also, since this purchase will still be a couple of years away and with Sig Germany closing, can I expect Sig to still be manufacturing this or any other gun in two years?

I know I can just wait when I'm ready to buy to see what's out there. But I was excited to learn about their patent protected double stack magazine.