SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    P320 Drop Safety in Question (Formerly DPD Recall thread)
Page 1 ... 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

P320 Drop Safety in Question (Formerly DPD Recall thread) Login/Join 
JOIN, or DIE
posted Hide Post
Sigfreund, you have more experience and knowledge than I but I thought a safety tab was one of the ways speculated that could have prevented the drop issues but Sig chose to fix it a different way with the thin/lightweight trigger along with the other changes they made. I’m not an expert or engineer, just a guy spitballing here but I do wonder if there are certain holsters that can flex or apply force to a holstered gun’s trigger that hasn’t been discovered yet that doesnt cause an issue on guns with the safety tab that need to be depressed in the middle of the trigger to allow them to fire. All I’m saying is with the history of the gun, I lean more towards “that possibility should be looked into” rather than “theres no way that could happen” as a starting point for these claims.

I think we are starting to see a small shift in the gun/training industry as of late where people are starting to question what the end goal for a defensive firearm should be. For a long time it was marching in the direction of removing take-up and lightening striker fired triggers to the point where you’re basically walking around with a 1911 in your pants without a thumb or grip safety. I’ve seen a few videos lately from people in the firearms training world discuss that more often and frankly, I’ve had that belief for about 10 years now watching every manner of custom Glock trigger come out removing just about all take up and lightening them, some removing so much takeup that they are disabling the firing pin block safety before a finger is even on the trigger.

Posts: 3569 | Registered: February 25, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Freethinker
Picture of sigfreund
posted Hide Post