SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    New to the game...shooting low
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

New to the game...shooting low Login/Join 
posted
Hey guys, I’m new to shooting and picked up a sig P320 M18. I was shooting low, even while having my sights lined up. Took my time trying to adjust but was still shooting low. I ended up aiming to the upper part of the target to start correcting my shot, but I shouldn’t have to do that? I’ve shot a few times before with different guns...and did pretty well until I shot my sig. thoughts? Any tips you guys can give me for my next range visit?

Posts: 4 | Registered: July 29, 2020Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Not One of
the Cool Kids
Picture of enidpd804
posted Hide Post
Have you spent any time dry firing? The key to beginning marksmanship is front sight focus. Some of the cool kids will tell you differently, but here's why. When you are first myelinating your grip, stance, sight alignment, etc., you need to be certain you are doing it correctly. Focus not only on the front sight, but the top edge of the front sight. After the process is myelinated, you will find yourself looking through your sights when shooting closely and quickly.

Here's a piece I wrote for TTAG. Most of my business these days is novice classes.

https://www.thetruthaboutguns....how-to-aim-a-pistol/

Posts: 3911 | Location: OK | Registered: August 15, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
If you are shooting low and to the left try putting more finger on the trigger.
Have you checked to see that you are not flinching. If not, put a snap cap ( dummy cartridge) in you pistol and fire the pistol without knowing when the dummy will be fed into the chamber. That will tell you whether you are flinching. Then load one round in the chamber and take the magazine out. Practice that way pulling the trigger on the empty chamber until the flinch disappears.