SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    S&W M&P 340
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

S&W M&P 340 Login/Join 
posted
Has anyone had any experience with the S&W M&P 340? How does it compare to the LCR, 640, and 642?

Thanks!

Posts: 1663 | Location: Ohio | Registered: December 12, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
The Great Equalizer
Picture of colt_saa
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Angio333:
Has anyone had any experience with the S&W M&P 340? How does it compare to the LCR, 640, and 642?

Thanks!
I own both a 340PD and a M&P340.

I carry a 357 Magnum (or 356TSW) J-frame on a daily basis. I have been doing so for more than two decades now

I do not now, nor have I ever owned a Ruger LCR. It is not for me.

Comparing to the 642 is unfair since one is a 357 Magnum and one is a 38 Special.

That begin said, any of the three revolvers that you mentioned are more than suitable for a concealed carry personal defense firearm. Accuracy and reliability are comparable

I will often carry one of my 640s if the way I am dressed allows me to. The heavier gun is always preferable when you are talking about a 357 Magnum revolver.

The 340s allow me Magnum carry in situations where my attire is not suitable for a 24 ounce steel revolver.

Make no mistake about it, a 357 Magnum pocket pistol is not for everyone. You will hear Internet Horror stories about hands that sting for days or bleeding fingers or ringing ears, etc. . . . Don't put faith in any of them, try one and make up your own mind.

357 Magnum J-frames are NOT fun to shoot, but then again they are not intended for fun . . . They are intended to save your butt when you walk into a situation you were not expecting. On that note, I want the absolute most power that I can control in the smallest package.