SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Hoppe's 9 bore cleaning solvent - how long does it last?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Hoppe's 9 bore cleaning solvent - how long does it last? Login/Join 
Frequent Denizen
of the Twilight Zone
Picture of SIGWolf
posted
I have a large amount of Hoppe's 9 bore cleaning solvent in a glass reagent jar with a glass ground glass stopper.

It's about 3 1/2 years old. I have used it to soak barrels in the past.

Would it still be good? It's not more viscous and seems the same color as before.

Posts: 17342 | Location: Northern Vermont | Registered: September 20, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I have been using the same bottle for over 8 years, it still works. Just ordered a new one since the old is about out.

I keep trying the new type of cleaners but seem to end up going back to #9, plus its cheaper.

Posts: 113 | Location: CA, USA | Registered: November 23, 2000Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Hoppes is mostly alcohol and kerosene. Kerosene will separate from water but the alcohol will absorb it. That said, if the jar was sealed, you're probably fine.

Posts: 2188 | Location: New Hampshire | Registered: February 25, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Frequent Denizen
of the Twilight Zone
Picture of SIGWolf
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by MikeNH:
Hoppes is mostly alcohol and kerosene. Kerosene will separate from water but the alcohol will absorb it. That said, if the jar was sealed, you're probably fine.

I wouldn't say it was exactly sealed. The glass stopper rather seals the bottle, but I don't think it's that tight.

Posts: 17342 | Location: Northern Vermont | Registered: September 20, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
You should be just fine.

Posts: 6601 | Location: Az | Registered: May 27, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Smarter than the
average bear
posted Hide Post