SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Traditional DA/SA or Striker?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Traditional DA/SA or Striker? Login/Join 
posted
I went to the range this morning with 4 different 9 mm's. I believe in having one family of autos. I do carry a 40 semi auto at work. I wanted to see which handled and shot the best.

I first shot a Glock 40 (rented) to best approximate my work gun. I then shot the others with the same ammo. My results were mildly surprising to me.

First I am an ex police academy instructor and head firearms instructor for my PD. I went through state firearms instructor school with an HK P7 M13. I put together an auto pistol changeover course to convert from revolvers to semi autos. I did this with my personal P226.

After many years I had decided to go with a striker fired auto. I have heavily invested in Glocks. I have a 19 and a 17. Also have about 25 Glock 17 mags.

Today I took out the 17, 19, Sig 228 and my VP9.
My Shield stayed at home. I fired a little over 100 rounds. I had zero problems with any of them. I shot at 50 feet and 21 feet. The state requal test uses these distances as well as 3 feet.

The winner? Sig 228. Second was the HK. and the Glocks were not too far behind. I love the P 228 but expected problems going from DS/SA to SA. The 50 foot was shot solely SA.

Now I have to decide which to keep. I would like to keep them all but will not. I will be retiring before too long and want to downsize. I also have 8 revolvers.

Any advice?

Posts: 238 | Location: SW OH | Registered: September 15, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
If I were in your position and I shot them all fairly well, and I didn't have any sentimental attachment to them, I'd probably sell the ones I could get the most money for.

"It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data. Insensibly one begins to twist facts to suit theories, instead of theories to suit facts." Sherlock Holmes