SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    .40 S&W Backup for Boar?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

.40 S&W Backup for Boar? Login/Join 
King Nothing
Picture of SigSauerP226
posted
I am just getting into hunting with a guy at work, and he loves boar hunting. He carries a .357 magnum revolver as a backup and says everyone should bring a backup in case you are charged. I was just curious if my P226 in .40S&W would work? I have a few of the 15 round magazines, and from what I read, I figure with a good +P round, I should be okay? Read a few threads elsewhere, but most of them were about actually hunting with the .40S&W. I plan on using a rifle to hunt, just carry the 226 as backup. What say you, SF? Anyone have experience with this idear?

...Then it comes to be that the soothing light at the end of your tunnel, is just a freight train coming your way...

Posts: 2440 | Location: Simi Valley, CA | Registered: September 25, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I weighed this a couple of years ago thinking feral hogs, not wild boar (just in case I was camping). Temptation was to go +P in my G21. Decided 357 in a seven shot L frame S&W. Buffalo Bore makes some stout 40 loads, but a 10mm or 357, 41, etc. beats them.

Posts: 3211 | Registered: August 03, 2015Reply With QuoteReport This Post
King Nothing
Picture of SigSauerP226
posted Hide Post
I was thinking 10mm semi auto or .357 revolver, but was wondering if I could avoid buying another gun. Sacrilege, I know haha.

...Then it comes to be that the soothing light at the end of your tunnel, is just a freight train coming your way...

Posts: 2440 | Location: Simi Valley, CA | Registered: September 25, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by SigSauerP226:
I was thinking 10mm semi auto or .357 revolver, but was wondering if I could avoid buying another gun. Sacrilege, I know haha.