SIGforum
Thoughts on S&W Shield 9mm

This topic can be found at:
https://sigforum.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/430601935/m/8410046734

February 12, 2018, 12:22 AM
bronicabill
Thoughts on S&W Shield 9mm
Very strongly considering picking up a Shield in 9mm for concealed carry. What is the SF collective’s thoughts on the latest Shield products in general?

February 12, 2018, 04:47 AM
arfmel
I have one. It's a good pistol but it's too big for pocket carry. If I have to wear a belt holster I want a pistol with more capacity and a grip I can get 3 fingers on.

I've read reports of the frames cracking and S&W not covering them under warranty.
February 12, 2018, 06:36 AM
Ronin1069
I carry a .40 nearly everywhere. Love it.

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
February 12, 2018, 07:26 AM
taco68
I have the 9 and 45. No complaints at all!

Sigs P-220, P-226 9mm, & P-230SL (CCW)
February 12, 2018, 07:47 AM
rbert0005
You waited too long. You should have gotten one when they were running the $75. rebate.

Bob

I am no expert, but think I am sometimes.
February 12, 2018, 08:07 AM
Cousin Vinnie
quote:
Originally posted by arfmel:
I have one. It's a good pistol but it's too big for pocket carry. If I have to wear a belt holster I want a pistol with more capacity and a grip I can get 3 fingers on.

I've read reports of the frames cracking and S&W not covering them under warranty.

I have NEVER heard reports of the Shield 9mm with the frame cracking! I have heard of a couple reports of the 40's having issues "detonating", but it was determined it was caused by bullet setback creating excessive higher pressures, not the fault of the gun.
I have several Shields in 9mm, 40, and 45 and they all have been flawless, and offer a good compromise of size, weight, reliability and capacity for CCW.
My preferred Shield for CCW is a 9mm PC model loaded with Underwood 124 grain, HP, +P ammo.
February 12, 2018, 10:58 AM
tha1000
I liked the one we got for my wife so much that I got one for myself. It shoots great for me.