SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Recommendation for first acquisition
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Recommendation for first acquisition Login/Join 
posted
I am very new in the forum so I really appreciate your future help.

I am looking to purchase a pistol for Practical shooting. I am a beginner in this activity.
I am a big fan of Sig pistols, I owned a P228 in a previous life….

The gun will be 99% dedicated to Sport shooting and 1 % for defense, since I received a carry licence.

The constraints are that I now live in a country where all guns cost twice as much as they would in the US, and all the models are not imported so my choice is somewhat limited.

Which models would you consider ?
I thought of the P226, or possibly the P210 (although much more expensive).

I prefer their conventional triggers to the one of the Stryker family, but I would be interested in a Stryker pistol (P320?) if you recommend to modify the trigger for example.

Also, I would like to be able to replace easily the conventional sights to a red dot, or alternatively go for a RX model.

So what would you recommend please ?

Thanks a lot for your valuable inputs !

Leo

Posts: 20 | Registered: November 25, 2019Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
A number of good options, but if you want to make it simple consider a P320 of some flavor. I have a Compact and a Full Size. If somebody is new to shooting and/or competition, it is a VERY easy pistol to shoot well. As one of our more knowledgeable members has stated, the P320 is very tolerant of bad inputs. Translation, lots of margin for error if your technique isn't always perfect. Having said that, the better your fundamentals, the better the end result. Same as with any gun, but just easier with the P320.