SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Haley Strategic Incog w/XC1 G19 holster review
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Haley Strategic Incog w/XC1 G19 holster review Login/Join 
posted
Review of Haley Strategic Incog w/Surefire XC1 for G19 holster review.

I have been molding my own holsters for about 4 years now. When the XC1 was released I was stoked to have a low profile weapon mounted light for everyday concealed carry. After receiving it I immediately proceeded to mold a prototype holster for it with different options for clips, struts etc. I was pretty happy with it and have been using it everyday for nearly 2 years now. Then came the G19 MOS. So I modified this old faithful to accept an RMR. After, I figured it was time to hang up the prototype and mold some new holsters now that I knew exactly how I wanted it to be and what mounting solution worked and what didn't. This is when I discovered a problem. My prototype was molded out of .060" thickness Kydex. It had good retention because there is enough of the bottom of the trigger guard available on a G19 with the XC1 attached to grab on to for the nice snap in retention. Issue is since I just mold holsters for myself and the occasional person or friend that asks me to and offers some coin I never saw the need to invest in vacuum forming equipment. I just use a rig I built and foam with pressure. Problem is when I stepped up to the thicker .080" thickness Kydex I couldn't get the Kydex to mold into the available portion of the trigger guard to get the nice retention I wanted. I could just use the thinner material but it has a lot flex and with the cutout for the RMR the mouth collapses a little when the gun is not in making it a little iffy when reholstering in the appendix carry position.