SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    617 vs GP100 .22
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

617 vs GP100 .22 Login/Join 
Fight, Build, Destroy.
Sappers Lead the Way!!
Picture of Zacsquatch
posted
Ive held both, and cant decide which I want. I love the full length lug of the 617, but I also like the Ruger being $100 less... Does the apex upgrade for the 617 make it even better?

Who has shot both?

Trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up

Posts: 4597 | Location: Winchester, KY | Registered: December 31, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
I made it so far,
now I'll go for more
Picture of rbert0005
posted Hide Post
Spend the extra 100 bucks. You won’t be sorry.

Bob

I am no expert, but think I am sometimes.

Posts: 4578 | Location: South Carolina | Registered: January 23, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Not really from Vienna
Picture of arfmel
posted Hide Post
Find you an old blue steel Model 17.

Posts: 26852 | Location: Jerkwater, Texas | Registered: January 30, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
I made it so far,
now I'll go for more
Picture of rbert0005
posted Hide Post
No way. 10 shots with speed loaders is what it’s all about :-)

Bob

I am no expert, but think I am sometimes.

Posts: 4578 | Location: South Carolina | Registered: January 23, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Leatherneck
posted Hide Post
I’ve shot both. I just fired a Ruger the other day. It’s been a couple years since I shot a 617 but from my memory I liked the Ruger better. That is of course a sample of one each. I’ve owned a 617 and currently own a SP101 in .22lr.

My 617 trigger was heavy and gritty. I tried to change the springs to make it better but when I did it became extremely unreliable with any ammo. Also one chamber wasn’t cut right so the cartridge was pretty tight. Extraction was a real pain in the ass after shooting just a few cylinders. All that plus the Hillary hole made me get rid of it for the SP101.