SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Rock Island 1911's...your opinions please...
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Rock Island 1911's...your opinions please... Login/Join 
Picture of bcjwriter
posted
I've been eyeballing a Rock Island 1911 for a 1911 to tinker around with, or maybe carry. (I'm looking at a 9mm version..)

I have zero experience with these but I hear good things...I already have a Colt Combat Commander XSE and a Kimber TLE/RL II.

Does anyone have any experience with them? What is their quality? How are they for a project gun? Would you carry one?

Posts: 1957 | Location: Southern CA | Registered: July 27, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Not as lean, not as mean,
Still a Marine
Picture of Gibb
posted Hide Post
I have a plain Jane A1 model (45acp), and it's everything I wanted.

Fit is comparable to the SA 1911s I've shot in the past, reliability has been excellent for me (full disclosure, I only have roughly 1,000 rounds through it so far).

I've used the supplied 7 round RIA magazine, a Wilson 7 round mag, and a Chip McCormick flush fit 8 round mag with no problems.

I've shot smoother 1911s, but this has filled my want for a GI clone, and for sub $400, the price was definitely right.

While I can't speak to the 9mm version, I'm impressed enough with the .45 version to give it a go.

I shall respect you until you open your mouth, from that point on, you must earn it yourself.

Posts: 3352 | Location: Southern Maine | Registered: February 10, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
No personal experience with the RIA in 9MM, BUT I've owned two RIA in .45acp. Both had series 70 trigger system. Both fed and ejected anything in .45. And both cost less than 1/2 the price of a NIB Colt .45acp.

As a bonus, many readily available Colt parts at gun shows will fit the RIA .45.

"Some people are alive today because it's against the law to kill them".