SIGforum
Today I am one step closer to my very own range.

This topic can be found at:
https://sigforum.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/430601935/m/7660069534

January 13, 2018, 08:38 AM
Tailhook 84
Today I am one step closer to my very own range.
quote:
Originally posted by Bob RI: The lender/investor may not have wanted to lend money for a mortgage due to potential environmental related risk. Lead leaching into Well/ aquafier, surface runoff into stream etc. I’m guessing it would take a LOT of lead to reach that point but I’m no expert.

I'm no expert either, which is why I'm pressing the question in this thread. Yes, lead in drinking water is bad, but does a private shooting range with a few thousand rounds expended into the dirt berm really create this situation? Either there's some fact-based concerns that other posters have alluded to or it's just internet lore. Just trying to determine if there's a real threat to property values or the possibility of state/federal fines before building a range.

"The Truth, when first uttered, is always considered heresy."
January 13, 2018, 10:41 AM
az4783054
We had a public "gun club" range (rifle and pistol) here in northern AZ which had been there for years. Then developers started building homes and people complained about the noise. The gun range lease was eventually terminated.

https://www.dcourier.com/news/...est-service-nearly-/

The cost to remove the lead in the birms was prohibitive and since the gun range operators did not clean it up, the Forest Service did it...$1,000,000 to haul away tons of dirt. If I remember correctly, they had to remove not only the birms but excavate to a certain depth of soil beneath the birms, then treat the remaining soil. It must be similar to cleaning up abandoned gas station fuel tanks.

The potential of lead contamination will have to be disclosed should the property ever be sold. If you GOOGLE "requirement to remove lead from gun range" the results may give you some insight.