SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Ready to get my first suppressor...need a recommendation
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Ready to get my first suppressor...need a recommendation Login/Join 
posted
I recently bought a new Ruger Mark V with a threaded barrel. I hate the trigger, and I hate the safeties (too easy to accidentally engage), but I love how easy it is to take down. And I like that it has the same threads as a standard AR.

That being said, can anyone recommend a can that will work on both the pistol and an AR? The guy at the local class 3 shop said I should get a dedicated .22 can for the pistol because an AR would blow up a pistol can, and the .22 pistol would quickly fowl an AR can...he said you can disassemble the .22 cans for cleaning but not the ones meant for ARs.

I'm new to these things and just wanted your opinions on a good can that might be able to work well enough on both platforms. The main thing is the .22, so if I have to get a dedicated can for that, then what would y'all recommend?

Posts: 872 | Registered: October 08, 2000Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of craigcpa
posted Hide Post
The trust I direc owns both a dedicated 22lr, etc., can and a 223 can. There's no way I would shoot a 223 can on a 22 pistol or rifle; just too heavy. And, I can't imagine my 22 can being able to accommodate the sheer energy of the 223 round. The weight of the two cans is extremely noticeable, and for a reason.

More knowledgeable will be by to explain better.

I would get both.

==========================================
Just my 2¢

Clowns to the left of me, Jokers to the right ♫♫♫

Posts: 7731 | Location: Raleighwood | Registered: June 27, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I could be wrong but I believe there are monocore/breakdown cans for 223. Should be all you need to run it on both though it will probably be pretty heavy for a 22. With that said 22 cans aren't terribly expensive. I'd get both