SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Help ID a P226
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Help ID a P226 Login/Join 
Picture of kgray01
posted
Ok, today I saw a German 226 at my LGS with markings I haven't seen before. The serial # was U666xxx with made in Germany on both frame and slide. What was interesting was the serial number was below the takedown on the left side, not on the other side (right)where they are usually found. Also, where the serial number would be if there were one on the slide, there was a long oval cut into the slide.
I know there wouldn't be ser# there but it's as if someone professionally cut it out.

Has anyone seen anything like this? If so, please enlighten me as I have not seen one quite like this, not that I'm an expert or anything.

Thanks!

1 Sam. 15:28

Posts: 313 | Location: DFW Area | Registered: December 20, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Oriental Redneck
Picture of 12131
posted Hide Post
The sn on the left side of the frame is odd, but I've seen it a couple of times.

The cut out slot where the sn is supposed to be on the slide is done sometimes by SIG on their CPOs. Also, they do this at customer request, when building a replacement slide, because the slide sn is not the same as the frame sn.

What about the barrel on that gun?

Here is what SIG did for my replacement P228 slide.

Q

Posts: 26343 | Location: TEXAS | Registered: September 04, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of kgray01
posted Hide Post
Thanks!

The barrel did not look like it had a serial # (they wouldn't let me take it apart) and the take down lever was the new style but I don't know the year they changed them.
The cut out is exactly like the one in your pic.

Posts: 313 | Location: DFW Area | Registered: December 20, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of JAFO
posted Hide Post
My West German CPO 226 looks the same wrt the frame serial number location and the milled oval.

<><><><><><><><><><><><><>