SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    2018...what a boring year for new handguns
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

2018...what a boring year for new handguns Login/Join 
Picture of CAR
posted Hide Post
I'm showing my age here, but when I started shooting in the late 1970's when you went into most shops where I live, you had generally your choice of a .38 special or .357 magnum revolver, a Colt .45 auto, the S&W 39 (I never recall actually seeing a 59 in stock for sale back then although they were available), the ubiquitous Ruger .22 auto and if the dealer was larger, maybe a Browning HP or a Walther P38.

When I go into dealers now, I am astounded at the huge selection of handguns available to shooters today.

Posts: 926 | Location: Ohio | Registered: May 11, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
To all of you who are serving or have served our country, Thank You
Picture of Jelly
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by DaBigBR:
Nobody's buying anything. I'm not surprised that R&D funds are probably right, too.
Handguns are selling very well in many areas.

You should see all the guns some Sportsmans Warehouse stores are selling.

Posts: 2679 | Registered: March 15, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
addicted to trailing-throttle oversteer
posted Hide Post
quote:
You meant Super Redhawk, right?

Nope, GP100 #01780. Gallery of Guns/Davidson's exclusive.

I probably shoulda pointed out that I'm looking at/writing this from a retailer's/dealer's perspective.

quote:
You complain about FN basically stepping on their own toes, then basically wrote a whole essay saying why every other company should do exactly that for novelty's sake.