SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    9 MM 1911 magazines questions...
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

9 MM 1911 magazines questions... Login/Join 
Buy that Classic SIG in All Stainless,
No rail wear will be painless.
Picture of cee_Kamp
posted
What do we like for 9 MM 1911 magazines?

I have some experience with OEM Springfield Armory 9 MM 1911 magazines, (9 round, metal follower, non removable bottom) and they worked perfectly. They have a "U" shaped ditch pressed into the front of the tube.

I bought some Wilson Combat 9 MM 1911 magazines some time ago and didn't like them at all. (10 rounds, plastic follower, plastic removable base pad)
All four of them consistently experienced failure to feed the top round when loaded to capacity.

I see MecGar, Metalform, Chip McCormick, and Wilson Combat all sell them today.

Decisions... Decisions...

NRA Benefactor Life Member
NRA Instructor
USPSA Chief Range Officer

Posts: 1497 | Registered: December 14, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
The Constable
posted Hide Post
Been using the Chip Mc Cormick mags in a new Colt 1911 9mm , for a few months now. NO issues. Have a lone Metalform and it's the same.

Posts: 7074 | Location: Craig, MT | Registered: December 17, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
That's just the
Flomax talking
Picture of GaryBF
posted Hide Post
My Ed Brown came with Checkmate magazines. It turns out that Kimber mags are also Checkmate, as best I can tell. They work well.

Posts: 11875 | Location: St. Louis, Missouri | Registered: February 04, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Metalform or Wilson.

Posts: 17 | Registered: December 06, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I have been using the Wilson ETM mags in my 9mm 1911s with zero problems.

Posts: 6600 | Location: Az | Registered: May 27, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Glorious SPAM!
Picture of mbinky
posted Hide Post
I have always had excellent luck with Metalform.