SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  SIG Pistols    Best series for accurate and reliable 1911
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Best series for accurate and reliable 1911 Login/Join 
posted
I am looking for my first 1911. There are a ton of choices and "era's"

Currently looking at a pre 70 series, 1967 vintage, Colt National Match.. It's in great shape, but a shooter.

Colt made, accuracy and reliability, are primary requirements. How much should I budget ?

Any advice ?

Posts: 344 | Location: Massachusetts | Registered: September 18, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
I made it so far,
now I'll go for more
Picture of rbert0005
posted Hide Post
Better check to see if it has the lightened slide.
If so you will have to run powder puff loads.

Bob

I am no expert, but think I am sometimes.

Posts: 4580 | Location: South Carolina | Registered: January 23, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Hop head
Picture of lyman
posted Hide Post
I have a Series 80 steel frame commander as a carry gun,
runs like a top, despite looking like ass from a parkerized refinish,

I have a handful of military originals, all run,

I have a mid 70's 38 super I have not shot yet, but also have a pre 70's series LW commander that runs like a top

I have a Chow, Clark Longslide, and a Shockey, (modified for Bullseye)
all run fine,

SA, Detonics, and a Argy 1927.
all good, tho I did have to replace the springs in the Argy, and retired the Detonics to range only since it is hard to find a new sear spring for it (it doubled a few times, so no more carry)

basically, they all do good if maintained and kept clean,

I prefer the series 70 and pre 70 guns myself,

https://www.chesterfieldarmament.com/

Posts: 10417 | Location: Beach VA,not VA Beach | Registered: July 17, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of CQB60
posted Hide Post
My preference is Series 70. Look for a Ruger SR1911 Commander, sub $800 range.